Skye Bonati meets Sara Groves

I went back and forth on whether or not that title seemed too prideful or not, but decided to keep it and err on the personal side.

For me, this weekend was historic. It may never be for the Mrs Groves, Musician, but it definitely was for the Ms Skye Shae Bonati, Musician. Through talking with her, God showed me why I have to keep writing my songs. Why I have to get to it with finding a publisher.

Not Your Typical VIP

How I got there:

  • Went on the Sara Groves website to look for MN concerts before January
  • There was exactly one ticketed event in MN. Just so happened to be a $65 fundraiser Gala for a ministry I had never heard of (The Dwelling Place)
  • Me: “Do I go?” Me: “Is that even a question?” **Note: Sara Groves has been my musical inspirer since childhood, and I have never been able to go to a concert of hers before. I can still remember sitting next to the boombox, pouring over the lyric booklet of her CD, Add to the Beauty, praying “God make my voice like hers!”
  • They needed volunteers to help set up the Gala that morning, so I signed up.
    • By 2 pm I was done with my duties and just sat at my table with not much to do other than… watch the run-through and sound check 🙂

      14805584_10154690932275452_1769982412_n
      In person, Sara’s as kind and caring as her lyrics sound.
  • Before they opened the doors to all the public, there was a VIP meet and greet (there was also a comedian and all the top geezers of the Dwelling Place). It was pretty chill, so I got introduced to Sara.

What’s Depression Got to Do with It?

While searching for tickets, I stumbled upon something Sara had put on her site, about having been struggling with depression the past few years. In His sweet way, God gave me the opportunity to pray for her there, knowing what it is like from experiencing it along with my sisters and some friends.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for her. Pray that God fills her mind with songs, and her heart with wings. Her music has meant so much to so many people, and no scheme of man or devil will keep God’s beautiful encouragement from making its way out in the form of her songs.
  • Please pray that my song would encourage her and lift her up from criticizing herself or doubting her faithfulness to God. (I gave her the name of “Your Love Is Like Your Patience”)

God Brings Sara’s Song Full-Circle

I had a great time with a friend (ironically also named Sarah, so really, I spent the whole evening with “Sarah”…) who drove out to attend the Gala with me, and loved the food, comedian, and learned about how the Dwelling Place takes in abused women and their children for up to a year and teaches them parenting skills, gives them a voice, and introduces them to the love of Jesus.

At the end, Sara played her set of songs.

You know where God put my seat? Right square in line with her at the piano, perfect to watch. Sometimes he blesses me too much–but that is not the sweetest thing.

The sweetest thing came in the form of the last song Sara played, “He’s Always Been Faithful.” I could not help but tear up, singing in worship to God. After the concert was over and my friend and I had finished talking with another old friend who was there, we went up to her again. Rifling my Bible’s pages in my hand, I opened to the back cover where I had

14799002_10154691142440452_514908233_n
Lyrics of surrender and trust

scrawled the lyrics of that same song in the margins of the final page.

 

 

In Taiwan, that song had gotten me through weeks of bus rides to and from work, holding back tears, choosing to trust that God would use even this to his glory.

“This is why you have to keep writing,” I said. And I shared my story of “Jiayou” with her before leaving. From writer encouraging girl to girl encouraging writer, God uses music to move his children on into glory.

Historical

I have to write. What if this self-same thing happened to me?

Somewhere, some girl or guy needs what God will say through my words and the notes of my songs. And someday, someone may use those words to gently remind me of my purpose and worth. Yes, Lord, do.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for me as I search for a publisher and enter blindly into this whole music production world.
  • Please pray for protection of my music, and that I would be able to discern who to entrust with it. Please pray for wisdom as I travel to Taiwan and have to do this in another country.
  • Please pray that I would write the truth in love, sing with all that I have, and give all the glory to God the Giver.
  • Please pray for those who need to hear to be listening

I am currently about 90% finished with my fundraising for the two year Residency with Envision:Taipei. Would you be willing to donate about $11 every two weeks? I only need 7 or 8 monthly supporters to finish up! If you feel you can do this, email me at skyebird93@gmail.com or go to “How To Support Skye”.

Keep the Faith!

SkyeBirdie

 

He’s Always Been Faithful
14813693_10154690932365452_1356678943_n
My friend Karlene works for The Dwelling Place! Who knew? 🙂
Morning by morning I wake up to find
The power and comfort of God’s hand in mine
Season by season I watch Him, amazed
In awe of the mystery of His perfect ways
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful to me.
I can’t remember a trial or a pain
He did not recycle to bring me gain
I can’t remember one single regret
In serving God only, and trusting His hand
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful to me.

This is my anthem, this is my song

14801099_10154690932390452_1942556124_n
My dear old roommate, Sarah, drove down to go to the concert with me ❤
The theme of the stories I’ve heard for so long
God has been faithful, He will be again
His loving compassion, it knows no end
All I have need of, His hand will provide
He’s always been faithful, He’s always been faithful
He’s always been faithful to me.
Songwriters: Sara Groves / Thomas O. Chisholm / William M. Runyan
He’s Always Been Faithful lyrics © Hope Publishing Company
3 thoughts on “Skye Bonati meets Sara Groves

  1. So neat to her of your Sara Grove’s meeting!

    Blessings!

    *Jeff Grams – *Outreach Staff Forest Lake Timber Bay Cell: 218-831-4452

    Click here to Donate

    On Tue, Oct 25, 2016 at 12:27 AM, SkyeBirdOnTheFly wrote:

    > skyebirdonthefly posted: “I went back and forth on whether or not that > title seemed too prideful or not, but decided to keep it and err on the > personal side. For me, this weekend was historic. It may never be for the > Mrs Groves, Musician, but it definitely was for the Ms Skye Sha” >

    Like

  2. Wow, Skye, that was a sweet blessing of a meeting! Keep after those music dreams that God has planted in you! He will use you, and show you more of Himself, and continue to bless your socks off!

    Like

Leave a Reply

