Car Trouble=Awesome Story

Awesome Story: Part A

Sometimes things are just not in our control. For example, when your fuel pump goes out in the middle of the highway, there is not much you can do other than get as far as you can before the car completely dies.

So that is what we did.

14182306_10154529566280452_2043063964_n
Waiting for the tow truck

God things:

  • The fuel pump went out right before an intersection on Division (a 4-lane highway)
  • We were in the left lane already, so mom had quick thinking and pulled into the turning lane
  • It stopped with enough room for other cars to go around us and still be in the turning lane; consequently giving the tow truck plenty of room to slide right in and pick us up
  • Even though it was super hot, God made the wind start blowing a nice cool breeze right through our windows
  • The insurance covered the towing and we were driven to the auto shop that is super close to our house

With this kind of story, you might expect us to be shaken a little. Sure. But worried? There’s another bill on top of others we already are paying… No, actually, it was kind of a fun adventure for me.  I can not speak for my mom, but when it happened, I literally felt no fear. Just peace. I guess it is the kind of peace that comes when you know that since God has provided before, he will again. The kind that “doesn’t make sense” (Philippians 4:7).

One of my Taiwanese friends, Eva, sometimes asks me to pray for peace. She is a new Christian, like many others at the Aroma Church, and sometimes I do not have a good answer for her why she does not have peace all the time. But today I have been thinking, Then, so why do I have peace? Why don’t things bother me anymore?

And I think it might be because of what I said: It is a kind of peace that comes when you know that since God has provided before, he will again. This new trouble? Bah. I’ve been through trouble before. No worries, man! My God’s got this!

I guess it is kind of hard to tell a new Christian, No worries, man! and have them completely understand you. But that is only because they have not experienced it yet. They will! You will. Right Eva? 😉

Awesome Story: Bart B

I actually am of the opinion that God was not just thinking about us when he let us experience this problem today. I think it was more than that. I was able to share something cool with the two guys who helped us drive to the shop and then home today.

14218405_10154529566670452_163519763_nWhile we were on our way to the auto body shop, a thought struck me. Dustin, our awesome tow truck man (or however you call them… tower… tow man…), reminded me of Jesus, and I told Dustin how. Not because he was saintly or because he had long flowing hair and a beard. No, actually it was because he was taking us to the mechanics who know exactly how the car is put together. They know how to diagnose the problem and exactly which part to put in. They know how to take it apart, fix it, and get it back in working order. And they see problems we have not even noticed.

And that is how he is like Jesus. We are all stalled in one way or another. Jesus is the only way we can get off the road. He knows the Good Mechanic, and he gets us there with no problem. And you know what? My God knows exactly how you are put together. He knows how to diagnose the brokenness  and messes in your life and exactly which parts to put in. He knows how to gently take you apart, fix the pain, sorrow, anger, fear, anxiety, and sinful desires, and get you back into working order. He even sees the problems you have not yet noticed on your own. Do you know my God?

If not, you do not even have to Google search his number. You do not have to choose from a list of other providers. He is the only one, and all you have to do is say, “Jesus? I think I need a Good Mechanic. Can you help me? Can you take me to the right place?” And he will.

Jesus said, “I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life, and no one comes to the Father but through me.” So does this analogy make Jesus a tow truck driver? Hah, maybe. Who knows what his job would have been if he had come in our day?

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you. (Philippians 4:4-9)

14193697_10154529566650452_1915859545_n
A fitting gesture– “Peace.”

So will we be able to pay the bill? Yeah. No worries, man. God’s got this.

Keep the Faith~

SkyeBirdie

 

ps new update on the getting back to Taiwan time frame and funds and all that coming soon. Plus a great new development!

Leave a Reply

