Don’t’cha’know and Other Minnesotan Expressions

I’m boppin’ around Minnesota now, don’t’cha’know. 13652857_10154383869890452_1056247870_nBeen staying with my mom and dad here for about a week, hey. Do me a favor and read by blog now, okie doke?

(Okay, that may be a little over the top, but not much! A lot of Minnesotans really do say stuff like that! 🙂  )

For the past week, since Wednesday the 6th, I have been in the good

13639650_10154383826430452_1209565675_o
My favorite things about home: Wide open spaces and the sky!!! Glorious sunsets and puffy white clouds and stars!

ol’ USA visiting family. It is so good to be here! I have adjusted pretty well to the amazing sweatshirt weather, American food, and the fact that every sign and every food product label is written in English! But I still find myself doing a few of these very Taiwanese things:

  1. Accidentally turning the hall light on when I use the bathroom (in Taiwan, all the light switches are on the outside of the room you are entering)
  2. Thinking I need to throw my used toilet paper away (in Taiwan, we almost never flush toilet paper unless you want to clean up a fun mess later with a snake)

    Sam!!! My little big brother and I went to Panera Bread together ;) So much fun. Love you, Sam!!
    Sam!!! My little big brother and I went to Panera Bread together 😉 So much fun. Love you, Sam!!
  3. Saying “ba” at the end of sentences (in Chinese, “ba” is like saying, “right?” at the end of a sentence. Ex. You want this coat, right?/ba?
  4. Using a peace sign as an answer to questions (or to say hello, or goodbye, or when posing for a photograph, or basically any other excusable instance)
  5. Missing my Taiwanese friends

As you may know, my time is short. I am deeply grateful for this opportunity to spend time with my family and some friends before I return to Taiwan for another new adventure.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for Eva–both she and her mom have an eye infection right now. Pray for supernatural healing and encouragement. Keep praying for a good job for Eva.
  • Please pray for my family and I. This month seems far too short! Pray that I will be able to get a plane ticket for this Christmas/winter to come and visit again.
  • Got to come home to dad's house from the airport and spend the first few days with Dad and Grandma Bonati <3
    Got to come home to dad’s house from the airport and spend the first few days with Dad and Grandma Bonati ❤
    Loved the time with Grandma and hoping for more!
    Loved the time with Grandma and hoping for more!

    Please pray for me as I continue to navigate cultural vagueness and try to keep a common thread going throughout all these changes of who I am and who I want to be. Pray that I am able to let myself be my different “me’s” in each country. For example, in Taiwan, people are much more gentle, careful with their clothes and self, quietly community-driven, and I enjoy the politeness of indirect communication. Here in the States,people are more rowdy, outward, and I enjoy being a ‘tough girl’ and being able to speak my mind more freely.

I’m going back to Taiwan!

(Just thought I would put that in bold, large font so that you would not miss it.)

Please consider supporting me this year. I will not be teaching English. Instead I will be doing a Residency with Envision, the same group that I have been with this past year, meaning I will be in Taiwan for 2 more years.

Eva looking for a good Bible verse for Howard's (a friend from Aroma) birthday card.
Eva looking for a good Bible verse for Howard’s (a friend from Aroma) birthday card.

I am so excited! When I return, I get to see Eva get baptized! It will be on August 14th, a little over a year since I met her. Apple is asking me questions about what she reads in the book of John, and others are asking for prayer and growing in their prayer life as well. Chen Jie is requesting prayer for things and accepting my prayers for her more every month, and Eddie her son is getting curious and asking questions about the Bible. I am getting to play more on the worship team and am learning how to lead a worship song. I was able to have a heart-to-heart conversation with my (now) former boss, Diana, and my former co-teachers are both learning more about God.

Chen Jie and Me before I left Taiwan-- she's the lady who fixes shoes on my street. I tutor her son Saturday nights and often stop in and visit with her in her shop with my limited Chinese. Pray for her family's salvation!
Chen Jie and Me before I left Taiwan– she’s the lady who fixes shoes on my street. I tutor her son Saturday nights and often stop in and visit with her in her shop with my limited Chinese. Pray for her family’s salvation!

Now I get to see God’s provision again in a new way, but I have to trust you too. I need to have 30% of my funds raised before I go, and 100% pledged. That can seem like a lot until you split it up, and definitely after you look at the provision of Christ, it’s no problem! Please help me get closer to my starting point if you are able– I have bought my return ticket already and I have enough money to help me through the first month or so and pay for my first semester of Chinese at NTNU, or ShiDa University.

I have written a great summary of this past year in Taiwan, that I have entitled 5 Days in Taiwan and you can read it by clicking on the link. It also explains more about the costs of things and how I have changed as a person throughout the year by God’s grace.

Needs: $1300USD/month for 2 years ($31,200)

30% needs to be in-hand and 100% pledged before I can begin the 2-year mark.

30%=$9,360USD

The crowded streets of Ximen at around 10 pm--people looking for fulfillment in material things and relationships. Pray for salvation for the 94% who don't know Christ!
The crowded streets of Ximen at around 10 pm–people looking for fulfillment in material things and relationships. Pray for salvation for the 94% who don’t know Christ!

Goal!

Now you might be asking, Skye, what’s your main goal with all this? Well. Let me tell you!

There is a large population of people in Minneapolis/St. Paul who come as immigrants or students from both Taiwan and China, and I have a small idea that someday I can do some college ministry there. I have also wanted to be an interpreter for a long time, and although Chinese is not what I was picturing to myself when I first had that desire, God has (again) changed my own plans and already put me on the path of his plan without my even noticing it. Thanks, Lord! 😉 

But really, I don’t know what the future holds. And of course, no one can. So right now, I am not going to say one way or another, because God might take me to Serbia for all I know. But this I know, everything works together for the good of those who believe in God, because he makes it so (Romans 8:28).

My college piano instructor and friend Lacey and her husband Jon took me to my first Twins game! :)
My college piano instructor and friend Lacey and her husband Jon took me to my first Twins game! 🙂

And don’t forget: You are a missionary too. God did not say, some of my followers should tell people about me and baptize in my name and disciple the nations. He sent all of his followers. What some people fail to tell us is that Christian = Missionary. There is no other way. So tell your neighbors! Tell your family! Tell your friends! God has placed you in your specific circle of people for a reason: to share the light within you. Be the candle in the dark, the city on the hill, the salt that makes the food taste so good. Go and tell your story! God may have written his Book a long time ago, but we are living witnesses to his kingdom. 🙂

Please Pray!

  • Please pray and ask God who needs to hear the gospel today in your life.
  • Please pray for the family members you have who do not have the light and the living water of Christ Jesus.
  • Please pray for your friends to know the Lord and the Father’s heart.
  • Please pray for the Taiwanese to hear the gospel in the way that they understand it and that moves them to repentance. Pray for the Father’s love to be lavished on them.
  • Please pray for me to get all of my funds raised before the end of August!

    My favorite food being back in the States: Mom's lasagna. Hands down. The best.
    My favorite food being back in the States: Mom’s lasagna. Hands down. The best.

Here’s how to give:

Give Online:

  1. Go to: https://secure.cmalliance.org/give/
  2. In the search bar under “Give to International Workers and Special Projects,” type: “ENV-Skye Bonati”
  3. If you wish, check the box under the total to make it a recurring gift.
  4. Follow instructions for billing information.

Give by Mail:

Send a check payable to 

The Christian and Missionary Alliance Office of Donor Accounting
8595 Explorer Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80920

This week I also got the treat of seeing my Plemel family-- L>R: Sophie, Mariah, mom Tracy, Tori, and Me. Loved spending time with my little sisters, especially the time I got to talk with Tori.
This week I also got the treat of seeing my Plemel family– L>R: Sophie, Mariah, mom Tracy, Tori, and Me. Loved spending time with my little sisters, especially the time I got to talk with Tori.
  1. Please make sure that all checks are made payable to “The Christian and Missionary Alliance.” 
  2. In the memo line, write “ENV- Skye Bonati”
  3. You will receive a tax receipt in the mail 4-6 weeks after the donation is processed.

Give by Phone:

The CM&A gives you the option of paying by credit card over the phone.

  1. Call the toll free line: (866)-443-8262
  2. Have your credit card in hand
  3. Call between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:00 pm (MST)

 

I try to make sure you all know how much I appreciate you reading this and praying for me. Prayer is the most powerful weapon we have as Christians because we are in direct communication with the God of the universe, who also happens to call himself “Immanuel, God With Us”.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Please support me in whatever way you can, and know that I do not take it lightly. You are helping me to walk in obedience to our God and King. Thanks!!!!!

 

Keep the Faith! Faith keeps You!

Skye Bonati (Skyebirdie)

 

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Don’t’cha’know and Other Minnesotan Expressions

  1. Today we mailed a $1,000 check for for your support to The Alliance in CO Springs. May God bless you as you return to serve Him. Enjoy your time back there in MN. We miss your grandma/our sister Shirley here in CR so much. We plan to visit her grave in the Denver Ft Logan cemetery when we go out to CO next week.. Small world; we are very familiar with the area where The Alliance is located there on Explorer Dr in CO Springs. Leanne & Mark used to live just a few blocks north of it and we still often go to the Post Office just a block away from The Alliance location. Leanne & Mark have moved a couple miles further north. Love, Your Great Aunt Norma & Uncle Don

    On Sun, Jul 17, 2016 at 12:11 AM, SkyeBirdOnTheFly wrote:

    > skyebirdonthefly posted: “I’m boppin’ around Minnesota now, > don’t’cha’know. Been staying with my mom and dad here for about a week, > hey. Do me a favor and read by blog now, okie doke? (Okay, that may be a > little over the top, but not much! A lot of Minnesotans really do say st” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

