Everyday Life: School Edition, Day 2

Today I got 7 needles stuck in my leg! (On purpose.) Also, I met one of the new Envision interns for the Business as Mission (BAM) interns this summer and walked 40 minutes in the pouring rain to go to the doctors’…. Yes, this is part of my everyday life. Read on to hear about what happened to me today, a typical Tuesday in Taipei City, Taiwan as an Envision intern…

Rainy day in Taiwan-- this is from a while back, but it all looks the same :)
Rainy day in Taiwan– this is from a while back, but it all looks the same šŸ™‚

Morning

Eva and I climbing Yanmingshan this Sunday
Eva and I climbing Yanmingshan this Sunday

This morning I woke up around 8 and prayed. Today I prayed for my friend MoMo, who is working on a script for a new movie she is in the middle of trying to get approved. Also, I prayed for my friend Eva, who is looking for a new job. I also prayed through a few Psalms and wrote down a lot of things that I am thankful for. I really appreciate what that does– it reminds me of God’s sweet faithfulness.

MoMo and me a few weeks ago
MoMo and me a few weeks ago

Then I went to the prayer time at Aroma, walking 4 minutes down Neijiang Street, through the alleys, and down Changsha Street to the corner of Hanzhong Street where Aroma is. The building next door was having work done on the sidewalk outside so it was obnoxiously loud as we prayed for the new interns that would arrive later today. We found out that they did not have a permit to work though, so later the bad-for-business ruckus was thankfully brought to a halt.

Lunch

Today instead of lunch, I had a meeting called PAUSE in the prayer room, which is in the basement of the Aroma.

This is a little old, but this picture is all of the interns that I've come to know and love. We are brothers and sisters in Christ!
This is a little old, but this picture is all of the interns that I’ve come to know and love. We are brothers and sisters in Christ!

PAUSE stands for “prayer, assessment, unload, s*, and encouragement” (I always forget what the “s” stands for because for the longest time I always inserted “snobbery” as a joke when we told people what it stood for, and now I can’t remember the real word…). PAUSE is a support group for the interns to talk about how we are doing with culture, relationships, family, work… all things intercultural; then we pray for each other and build each other up. Me, Justing and Brittany, Andrea, Nathan, Michael, Matt, Rachel, and Alisha have all been a part of this group for this year, and today was our last day meeting together. I am so thankful for the support and encouragement they have given me during this year! Sorry, can’t tell! What happens in PAUSE stays in PAUSE! šŸ™‚

 

Afternoon

Usually, I work in the afternoons from 2-6:30, but on Tuesdays I have a day off. This afternoon I was going to have a language exchange with MoMo but a meeting of hers got moved, so we could not meet. So, I went to the doctor instead! šŸ™‚

I met a new intern who will be here for the summer, named Momoko. (There are so many Momos now– Eva’s mom is also called Momo!) She is was getting pretty sleepy from the jetlag, so I pulled her along with me to the doctors, and we took the MRT (the subway) a couple stops away on the blue line to Xinpu and then walked 20 minutes in the rain to get to the clinic.

Acupuncture!! :) Feels weird during, feels better afterward
Acupuncture!! šŸ™‚ Feels weird during, feels better afterward

Then Doctor Huang ((Ahh! I just missed 11:11 again -_-)) readjusted my left knee (injured it a while back during a Frisbee game) and my ankles and stuck 7 needles in my leg for acupuncture. Before I came to Taiwan, I am sure I would have sworn I would never do such a thing. But here I am eating cow stomach and going to Chinese doctors. Life is strange.

Momoko and I hung out for a little longer in the prayer room back at the Aroma as I did some sketching for my friend MoMo’s logo. I am trying to make her one for a present before I leave Taiwan.

Eva and I met for dinner at our favorite noodles shop (they know me by name šŸ™‚ ), and I got to meet the shop owner’s daughter for the first time and also her pastor. They are Christians, and they are really loving. Last fall, I often went there, exhausted and sick from teaching little kids, and ready to cry from stress, and they would get me my soup or noodles and cheer me up with a little free dessert or some funny saying. Their shop is right around the corner across the street from the Aroma, so it is a common thing to see half the church eating there between services on Sundays.

Evening

Tuesday nights, there is an English-speaking small group at my house, led by Justin and Brittany, my hosts. Tonight, Sweetie shared about her time serving in Uganda and Kenya and answered the questions we had for her. It was pretty cool to hear about her continued belief and faith in God, even through many, many struggles and disappointments. Please pray for the leaders of those countries to be convicted of the lying and stealing they do!

This is Sweetie with Jesse (the Taiwan Envision leader) and the Crown College missions team that was just here for 10 days this June; Sweetie is the woman on the left in the back
This is Sweetie with Jesse (the Taiwan Envision leader) and the Crown College missions team that was just here for 10 days this June; Sweetie is the woman on the left in the back

Afterward, I enjoyed walking with my friends Apple, Howard and Eva to the MRT, laughing and teasing each other, and then returned home.

I went up and sat on the corner of my roof and looked at the beautiful lights reflecting on the river below and thought about my future. Where will I go? Who will I marry? Will I ever live in the states? Will I really stay here for two more years? God knows. And I know God. I will trust him to lead me where he wants me to go. And it will be good.

Important people:

  • Matt Messer–his last day was today! He is leaving Taiwan tomorrow afternoon.
  • Momoko–first of the new summer interns, will be here til Aug.
  • Eva–hard worker, awesome child-like faith in prayer. šŸ™‚
  • Sweetie–hard worker in another way, awesome persistence through Christ for Christ.

 

Please Pray!

  • Please pray! Start your day with God. End your day with God. He doesn’t leave your side, so why should you act like you have to go to a certain place to talk with him? Talk with him now!
  • Please pray for the business of the Aroma Cafe– pray that it will not be negatively affected by the construction next door. In fact, pray the opposite. Pray that somehow the business will actually get better during this time, not worse! Also, we’re still looking for a new building! Please pray for just the right place for us.
  • Please pray for my knees and my ankles to get back into shape. Also, I would really appreciate prayer that I can get into a good exercise routine again. I was for a little bit until my bike tire popped, and I don’t have money to fix it at the moment, so…
  • Please pray for Momoko and the other interns as they get started with their intense internship bright and early tomorrow morning (most of them arrived only this evening). Pray for strength and great ideas!
  • Please pray for both MoMo and Eva as they look for work in their own ways. MoMo, for good actors and government approval of her video, and for Eva for a new job.
  • Please pray for Sweetie’s Ugandan ministry, called Arise! Pray for the women in the workshop to be protected and learn wise money management that would glorify God.
  • Please praise God for his unending love and his unforgettable faithfulness in my life!
  • Please also pray for the families of the victims in the Orlando shootings this past weekend. Pray for all Christians to respond in love and discernment, not hatred or self-righteousness. Please pray for nonbelievers to turn their eyes off of hatred and towards God, not away from him.

Lots of prayer points today– please pray through them for me, even if you just say the words that I have written. Prayer is oh so powerful! The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective! (James 5:16) You are helping change things for God’s kingdom!

More Pictures of tonight

a little pre-drawing before getting down to work on real logo material
a little pre-drawing before getting down to work on real logo material

 

The view from my roof tonight was beautiful
The view from my roof tonight was beautiful

 

A fun little friend joined me on the ledge of the roof
A fun little friend joined me on the ledge of the roof

 

Good night all! (Good morning US)
Good night all! (Good morning US)

 

Keep the Faith!

My grandpa always said, “God’s good, the devil’s a liar, and prayer still changes things!” ~Ralph LaBarr

Keep praying!

 

Skyebirdie

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Everyday Life: School Edition, Day 2

Leave a Reply

