How Long do you Love Someone? Behind the Scenes

Hello all, I have an exciting announcement!

My second music video is finally done! MoMo finished editing it just yesterday, and she has uploaded the song, called “How Long Do You Love Someone?” to her YouTube channel. Let me tell you a little about the song:

MoMo and her staff (the tissue taped to the camera...) :)
MoMo and her staff (the tissue taped to the camera…) 🙂

“How Long Do You Love Someone” comes from some lyrics that I wrote a couple of years ago (~2014), but the main line “You love until it hurts you worse to let them go,” actually came from a much harder time much earlier than that.

It is no secret to those who knew me growing up that my life was pretty crazy. There was a lot of fighting going on around me all the time, and I was fighting much of the time too. Friends; family; live-in, partial family… sometimes I did not know where to go but to Jesus. I have been disappointed many times in my life, by people I thought would not disappoint me, but somehow God always pushed me to not give up on opening my heart to people. I honestly am not sure how, but for the grace of God.

Shooting from the bunk bed of Sarah's house while she was at work :) Thanks Sarah!!
Shooting from the bunk bed of Sarah’s house while she was at work 🙂 Thanks Sarah!!

 

I can remember clearly the moment this line came, and its melody came with it. I was fourteen or fifteen, and pain and sorrow, but somehow, also determination, filled my heart as I stood in the light of the afternoon sun. I will not share the fully story because I do not wish to cause someone harm. No one needs to worry about it because the moment is passed, and God gave me this beautiful line from the experience.

 

 

Several years later, I still had not forgotten that line and the melody was emblazoned in my mind, so I attempted to giveIMG_2110 copy it more words, but nothing good came. Not until this year did I get the right words for the song, and God is again teaching me this lesson: Don’t give up on Love. Love never fails (1 Cor. 13:8). MoMo Tseng sat in a coffee shop with me and told me, “Hey, you should let me record your song!” Like the first song, “Your Love Is Like Your Patience”, I had no music for the lyrics yet, baring that single line, so it gave me a kick of motivation to write the rest.

The first attempts in my own apartment may or may not have included using Kennedy's doll to obtain a blurring effect in the camera...
The first attempts to record in my own apartment may or may not have included using my scarf and Kennedy’s doll to obtain a blurring effect in the camera…

So a month after writing “Your Love Is Like Your Patience,” MoMo and I sat down to record the new one. But then– *bang! bang! bang!* It was impossible for about a month to get any sort of good recording done– construction was being done on the apartment directly beneath us! And then later it was above us! And then after hours, my house is filled with my 6 other roommates, so only when Sarah Mabee kindly gave me the keys to her house while she was at work could we get any sort of production going on. But some things are worth the wait.

The lyrics of this song ask a question so many of us ask: “Can I quit?” My sincere hope is that the challenge of love can guide us to look to the cross, where Jesus “loved us to the end” and past the end.

How long do you love someone?

How long do you hold out your hand?

When you’ve tried and you’ve tried but it just won’t work

Is there a day when it’s okay to not try?

When, then, do you leave someone?

When, then, do you give up the fight?

When you’ve cried and you’ve cried but they just don’t change

Can you take your heart back?

I don’t know the answer

I don’t know the time

But the source of love cannot be pride

I don’t know the future

But I know the Christ

And his kind of love will never run dry

So, you love until it hurts you worse to let them go

Loving someone who doesn’t love you brings a soul to the ground

But the ground of Jesus’ love is such the solid place to rest

So, you love until it hurts you worse to let them go

And then you’ll really know

Then you’ll really know

Skye Shae Bonati

April  2016
Please feel free to share this with people you know! I want it to be used to encourage people to keep pressing on. If you would like to know more about my life as a Christian, or have any questions about why I believe what I believe, feel free to email me at skyebird93@gmail.com or find me on Facebook– my full name is Skye Bonati.
 IMG_2113 copy

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for MoMo and ask God to bless her for this amazing gift! She could normally be paid much more for the time she put into this video, but she really wants it to be a gift to the Lord. Pray that God provides for her and gives her times of rest (being a director isn’t the most lucrative job here unless you just go for the cheap jobs with little quality required, and MoMo doesn’t accept those kind of jobs).
  • Please pray for wisdom! I am happy to report that I no longer have to work in July or August since my school won’t need me!!! But this means I have to figure out my summer plans pretty quick– my contract will end in just 6 weeks.
  • Please pray that my music can be a blessing to those who need to hear the message.
  • Please pray for Rachel Braafhart, an amazing woman of God, and the first intern to return to the USA this year: Please pray for wise choices during re-entry culture shock, favor and grace in relationships, and for a commitment to honor the Lord with everything. She plans on returning, so please pray for the support that she needs to come quickly and with generosity and love.
  • Please pray for the people in your church that feel like they can’t keep going anymore, or even your own self: Don’t give up on love. Just ask me if you need prayer!!
Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us. 1 John 4:8-12
Upcoming:
Everyday Life 2: Life During School Days
The Motherload x2: MORE pictures from the past month!
Keep the Faith!
Skyebirdie
IMG_20160511_213459_838
Thank you for your prayers!!!
2 thoughts on “How Long do you Love Someone? Behind the Scenes

  1. Wha?? ! You’re coming home soon??!! Yeahhhh!!
    Your song is SO BEAUTIFUL!! Love it for sure! Strong love you have my dear, straight from the heart of God!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

