Boy, Do I Love Fridays–Pictures to come soon!

Almost as much as I love Saturdays! 🙂

It has been a while since I have talked about what I am doing here in Taipei, Taiwan, half way across the world from my homeland. I knew that over the course of the months, it would become much clearer what God is doing by leading me here, and there are two things specifically that have come to mind:

  1. God is putting me through the fire to build resilience and trust.
  2. I met MoMo, allowing me to make my first recordings of my songs. We have scheduled another recording day, so be on the lookout for more magic by MoMo Tseng! 🙂

Today is Good Friday, the best Friday ever! Although it was full of running hither and thither, forgetting things, and getting frustrated with a student who has trouble controlling himself, I had several comments from people saying, “Wow, you look happy today!”

And I was!

Today I got to tell my first graders about Good Friday and what that means for us. On Wednesday, I told the story to my sixth graders, and let me tell you, they have never been so still. Both classes were completely focused in on what I was saying, listening with full eye-contact and eager (first grade) or thoughtful (sixth grade) expressions. God has put eternity in our hearts, like Ecclesiastes 3:11 says. The best part about today is that when I told the 1st graders Jesus’ story, they were all working together to learn the new vocab (like cross, grave, come back to life, etc) that came up in the story and the door to my classroom was wide open. I really hope my bosses were listening too. My co-teacher, Jennifer was, and I hope that God will water the seeds of hope I am able to plant as I teach.

So right there is another real reason I am here.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for my co-teacher, Jennifer. I can see her beginning to hear God’s voice calling her “out upon the waters.”
  • Please pray for my students– 18 in 1st grade and 14 in 6th grade. Pray for them to not only listen well, but know that they can respond to Jesus.
  • Please pray for me:”that whenever I speak, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel” (Ephesians 6:19).

Best Part Now!

The best part of the day was at the end of my day, and I had to work for it. I was on the schedule to lead Coffee Talk tonight, and I had totally forgotten until last night. When my roommate Justin reminded me. So… Yeah, it was a little tight. I spent most of today, in between lesson planning and lesson giving, wracking my already tired brain for ideas of discussion questions and activities, and I finally settled down with this:

  1. Do an egg drop. (volunteers crack an egg and, without bending at all, get as much of the egg into a cup placed over another volunteer’s mouth, who is lying on the floor)
  2. Do discussion on vocab and some basic questions about Easter (resurrection/redeemer/mediator/egg hunt/Immanuel/centurion…etc. and “What is the purpose of celebrating Easter?”
  3. Read different scriptures from about 8 scenes during the Good Friday/Easter weekend, and talk about the meaning of each
  4. Have each table (there are usually 7 tables of about 6-8 people) choose one of the 8 scenes and make a storyboard that represents it.
  5. Fall over and sleep…. I haven’t made it to that step yet (12:59am…)

My dear friend Eva was so kind. She helped me buy dinner, let me eat hers first and waited for mine, helped me get things prepared, and prayed with me afterwards. What a God-send! I felt so humbly blessed, and I could feel the prayers of others around during the evening.

During the actual night, people were all engaged and there were so many good conversations going on. The people at my table were all really interactive and were asking questions all night. (One guy was asking me if kneeling had anything to do with driving away evil… or crosses, or centurions haha.) Please pray for these people!

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for the word of God to settle in the hearts of those who came to Coffee Talk tonight. Pray that the hope of Jesus’ death and resurrection awakens them to the Truth in Christ!
  • Please pray for Eva. She needs peace–pray for God to bless her humble heart and lift her up!
  • Please pray for our new Christians this Sunday– we are having a baptism service and about 5 people are dedicating their lives fully to Christ, no looking back! Pray for them to get a solid foundation in Christ, and not just to do it because it is the ‘right thing to do’ or because ‘hey, why not?’ Pray that they seriously consider the fact that they are, in effect, marrying Jesus!

Time for sleep.

Keep the Faith, guys. If Jesus does not make you excited, or new believers, or praying for your church, take a long hard look and ask why. Then ask God for more!!

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied” (Matthew 5:6).

 

Skyebirdie

5 thoughts on “Boy, Do I Love Fridays–Pictures to come soon!

  1. Oh my gosh this is all so crazy AWESOME of Jesus and Him in you!! Blessings on Eva! Blessings on those beautiful children you teach! Blessings on MoMo! Praying in the Spirit for all your requests Skye, and thanking my God for eternity that He has put in your heart and those who serve with you!! You are all a beautiful example of Christ to Taiwan! Love keep you all. Can’t wait til the next music video … woohoo!

    Like

  2. Amazing update on all this is going on. God sure is working and He is faithful! Keep up the good work! You and all at Aroma Cafe are a blessing! Praying for all of you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

