Dreams = Reality this month.

Some of you know that I have a hard time creating new music if I do not have to do it for some reason. Last week, a dream of mine came true through a friend’s help and motivation, and that dream was to record one of my songs, “Your Love Is Like Your Patience.”

Here is the story.

Three weeks ago, I was meeting with the Taiwanese movie director MoMo Tseng for a language exchange, and I thought it might be cool to show her some lyrics I had written back in 2014. I had hoped they would touch her heart and that God could use them to speak to her. But she surprised me by asking me to set up a date to record the two songs I had showed her. “Sure!” I said, with no hesitation.

I didn’t even have music for them.

Fast forward two weeks to Tuesday the 8th of March, and you would see me up early in the morning, scrambling to practice and finish writing the last bit of the song (no joke, one of the most important lines in the song was made up about an hour and a half before we started recording). From about 10:30 am til 2 pm, MoMo called “Action!” and I played my song, she worked magic by using the TV and a glass of water to make a mirror and lighting effects, and God ministered to both of our hearts.

 

Concentrate
During the recording session, I had to keep writing the lyrics in darker so I could read them while I played. X)

Please Pray!

  • Thank God for me! Please praise God for giving me a dream come true.
  • Please pray for MoMo! Pray God would bless her socks off for me. She took my little song and made it look like magic.
  • Please pray for those who watch my video. Pray that God uses the lyrics and music to touch their hearts and heal brokenness. Pray that it would inspire hope and trust in a God who is never ashamed of those who call him Father.

Background:

The title “Your Love Is Like Your Patience” comes from the first line in the chorus, and it came from two places. The first is the many-repeated line in the Bible “his love endures forever” (see Psalm 136 for the best example), and second is from the passage in 2 Peter 3:9 that says, “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”

IMG_1279 copy
               Praying for the music and my friend MoMo

 

When I wrote these lyrics over two years ago, I had just done something foolish and that I know saddened God. I do not remember what it was, but I know it probably hurt someone. I knew, too, however, that these scriptures were true, and it gave me a song to write. No matter how much we have done, if we are willing to turn around and obey God, he has love for us, forgiveness for us, patience for us in our weakness. His justice is matched by his grace, and he longs more to be with us than we even do. You can look up “Your Love Is Like Your Patience” on YouTube and watch it in HD (so beautiful what MoMo did) or click on the link to listen. Here are the final lyrics, finished on the morning of March 8th, 2016:

Faithful One,

Holy One,

How can You be so good?

How can You be so good?

Sovereign One,

Yet not ashamed of me,

How can You be so good?

How can You be so good?

Your love is like Your patience,

Enduring the test of time and my ignorance.

And I will choose to bow in obedience–

You’re never ashamed of me!

Set me free!

Lift me up!

Show me the secret place!

Show me your secret place!

Take my fears!

Clean my mind!

Show me your secret place!

Take me inside your grace, where

Your love is like your patience,

Enduring the test of time and my ignorance!
And I will choose to bow in obedience–
You’re never ashamed of me!

How many times have I faltered and failed You?

When will I ever learn?
You are faithful and true, sovereign and holy–
When will I ever learn?
And how many sins have I laid down before you,
Yet You’ve forgiven them?

I don’t understand this kind of love…

Your love is like your patience,
Enduring the test of time and my ignorance.
And I will choose to bow in obedience–
You’re never ashamed of me!

Music and Lyrics by: Skye Shae Bonati
March 8, 2016
 IMG_1264 copy

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for yourself. Let these lines speak to you. I hope they do.
  • Please pray for the right people to see this video. I don’t really care about it being famous. I don’t even really want my name on the video. But, I DO want God to use it if he wants to to heal broken lives, to encourage the hurting, and to give peace to those who have faith in Jesus the Savior. It would honor me if you would share my video with a friend who is struggling! Pray for them! Love on them.

 

Romans 5:6-11 says,

6. You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. 8. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

9. Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! 10.For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! 11. Not only is this so, but we also boast in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

For another picture of the kind of grace I am talking about in my song, read Isaiah 59 and the rest of Romans 5.

IMG_1254 copy
MoMo did a few quick things to turn my living room into a beautifully staged performance hall.

Rest in God’s love, all!

Keep the Faith!

 

Skyebirdie

5 thoughts on “Dreams = Reality this month.

  1. Your song makes me cry of the goodness of God and how beautifully done it is. You have truly a gift darlin’! All I have shared it with have made only comments of affirmation and how deep it is, and had to listen to it over and over again. I pray for all these and others that would soon listen. I pray for you to have more blessings of your songs published! Praying for MoMo! You’re a good match for each other I think 😉 ! Keep it up you two! We need you! May Jesus take this to the heights of Him, in where He would have it go. Love you babe!

    Like

  2. Wow! I just took the time to sit and listen to your song. Skye, to say I’m proud of you doesn’t cover it! 🙂 God has blessed you with a gift and you are using that gift to bring glory to Him. Way to go! I love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

