Everyday Life 5: Hooray for Tuesdays!

Blah blah blah, I’m doing a week-long thing about everyday stuff as an intern in Taiwan. Check out the previous blogs to understand why I am saying this and to catch up. Quick reads!

Today I woke up with blood on my pillow from my wisdom tooth– or rather lack thereof, and that totally grossed me out. I prayed for my friends and language exchange partners and then threw on some clothes and went out the door.

IMG_20160126_141301_509
I only have one wisdom tooth left… the rest are stupid teeth, I guess.

Normally on Tuesdays I have the morning prayer time at Aroma in the prayer room at 10 am, a language exchange with a cool lady named Momo from 11 am- 12:30 pm, a support group meeting for Envision interns called PAUSE (Praise, Analyze, Unload, Self-evaluate, and Encourage) from 12:30-1:30 pm, lunch, and another language exchange with a guy named Alfie from 2:30- 5ish pm before I eat dinner and go to the Tuesday night small group at 8. Busy day, no?

But that is not what I did today.

Today I went to meet with my mentor at 9:30 am, the lovely Jamie O’Dell (wife of Aroma’s Pastor and Coffee Shop owner). She had a baby this month and I got to hold him. Seeing his tiny face was the best part of my day! We talked and prayed and then at 11 am I came back home. My tooth has been super sore today and so I made a little nest around me on the couch from a bunch of blankets and got a hot water bottle to put under the covers with me and read. But I did not stay there for long because the weather has finally taken a turn for the better!

I went up on our roof and took these shots. Normally it is super foggy from the smog, but the rains from the past two and a half weeks must have washed the air because it was beautiful. I could see layers of the mountains around us that I did not even know were there.

In the afternoon I watched a couple episodes of the Taiwanese drama Two Fathers. It is really funny! I have no idea what they are saying most of the time, but it is okay because when Taiwanese say “drama,” they mean drama. They mean, move your face in exactly every direction to make absolutely sure that we know what you are thinking. Hah. So much for the indirect communication Asians are supposed to have…

I did not go to my language exchange with Momo because she is traveling in Japan, and I did not go to the one with Alfie because my cheek was swollen. :/

I did go to the small group at 8 pm though. Our group is made up of Taiwanese and a few foreigners, and tonight the topic was “who is the source?” Us? or God? It is always interesting to see what answers the newer Christians have. Please do not assume that new Christians “get” something just because they know the right answer. They need to be shown how answers to questions like “Who is the source?” actually play out in real life.

I’m reading a new book called Building a Discipling Culture by Mike Bean and co., and it is a good read so far. It talks about how to show rather than just teach in discipleship, and the whole two chapters I have read so far are full of truth. I would really recommend it for anyone who is or thinks they will be discipling someone. And by the way, you should be, if you aren’t (Mt 28:19-20)! But first, get discipled yourself.

During the small group, one of the coffee shop workers brought down some of the extra muffins from first floor, and I got to take one home with me. I went to see Chen Jie and gave it to her. She always says not to give something to her, but I insist because it is only a muffin. 🙂 She got to meet Nathan, our new roommate and the newest Envision intern too.

Then, women wei jia le, which means we went home. At home, Justin was hanging out with Howard for a bit and we watched some YouTube before saying goodnight and Da jia zai jian, or literally, big family, see you later, or in everyday language, see you guys later.

 

So… Da jia zai jian!

Important people of the day:

 

 

11223866_10204741336322275_6006662246181653054_n
Nathan C– the newest addition to the Neijiang Flat (what we call our home since that’s our street name)
momo
Momo– my first Tuesday Chinese teacher– didn’t get to see her today
740125_10153888458195452_3478993444303513631_o
Alfie– my second Tuesday Chinese teacher. Didn’t get to see him either.

What I God taught me today: I need to be discipled! I need to disciple others, and there is a much better way to do than than just teaching people lecture-style. People need to be given real-life examples of how faith, hope, and love work in the real world, and get immersed in a culture of discipling and chasing after God’s truth. They also need to be challenged! No easy, comfort-driven life will do. Information is worthless if you do not do something with it.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for people in your church and mine to be discipled and learn how to disciple others.
  • Please pray for Momo to have safe travels and to experience God’s blessings.
  • Please pray for me to be diligent in language studies and to trust God with my future.
  • Please pray for the coffee shop to continue to be run with love, integrity, and in alignment with God’s word and keep being such a great light in the community! It’s pretty dark around here!
  • Please pray for your family!

 

Keep the Faith!

Skye

Leave a Reply

