“God Can Speak Through Other Books,” and “Photos and Altars”

God Can Speak Through Other Books

What? God can do that?!

Yes, it’s true. πŸ™‚

Tonight He spoke to me through a book called Hind’s Feet on High Places (a must-read, in my opinion), by Hannah Hurnard, and what she says at the end of the chapter called “In the Mist” applies directly to my life right now.

The main character, named Much-Afraid, is on a journey to the high places with her two guides, Sorrow and Suffering, who were given to her by the Shepherd, and she has been walking through a huge forest of mist for day upon day. Finally, she passes through it to the other side she meets the Shepherd along the way. A glimmer of hope touches her heart. This is an excerpt from page 142-3, and I want you to know that I feel exactly the same.

But first, Please Pray!

  • Please pray against Self-Pity, Resentment, and Doubt.
  • Please pray that I have opportunities to share the gospel with my colleagues.
  • Please pray for me to be present in the moment. I am really thinking about home and family, and if I am not careful, I will miss my self back to the USA and fall away from God’s hopes for me here.
  • Please pray for joy to come!

[Much-Afraid is talking to the Shepherd]

She told him all the dismal tale of their long wanderings in the mist, the way Resentment, Bitterness, and Self-Pity had been bothering her and her fear that perhaps, after all they had wandered from the path and lost their way [as Resentment, Bitterness, and Self-Pity had been telling her].

“Did you really think that I would let you stray from the right path to the High Places without doing anything to warn you or prevent it?” asked the Shepherd quietly.

She looked at Him sorrowfully and said with a sigh, “When Resentment and the others are shouting at me I am almost ready to believe anything, no matter how preposterous.”

“You had better become a singer,” said He, smiling. “Then you won’t hear what they say to you. Ask Sorrow and Suffering if they have any more songs which they can teach you. Do you find them good guides, Much-Afraid?”

She looked at Him earnestly and nodded her head. “Yes, very good. I never could have believed it possible, Shepherd, but in a way I have come to love them. When I first saw them they looked so terrifyingly strong and stern, and I was sure that they would be rough with me and just drag me along without caring how I felt. How I dreaded it, but they have dealt with me very, very kindly indeed… I never could have managed without them.”

[And later, she says,]

“…I am often very frightened at the things which you ask me to do,” she added shamefacedlyΒ  and apologetically, “but I could never doubt You in that way. It’s myself I am afraid of, never of You…” (p.145).

These are my same words to the Shepherd now.

I never thought I would be this weak. Do you know the hardest part about this is admitting that I am afraid? That I am weak? That I cry a lot? That I feel so needy and pathetic here? I am used to having people tell me I am strong, and believing myself to be so, and being the encourager and the strong one… and now look at me. I am constantly in tears, cannot seem to rise above what is facing me, and I almost doubted God to the point of quitting my job or cutting my hours back! I do not like being this me. This is honesty, and this is what a missionary faces. I know I am not the only one. So, please, if you know a Christian who is serving in a place not their own, pray for them as you pray for me. They probably have gone through or are going through the same Mist.

The Story Doesn’t End There

But! As I alluded to in my last post, I have also come to what I think may be the end of the misty “Forest” (or at least a clearing close to its edge) and have seen a glimmer of light.

This past week has had its ups and downs, but this time there has been more ups than downs.

I tell you, now after I laid down my will on that hill last Tuesday, and decided to actually listen for God’s voice, and accepted His answer, I really do feel peace that passes understanding. I can actually say that I look forward to learning how to teach. That is not to say that it will be easy from here on out, Hah! If only. But now I have stopped fighting God. I can be quite stubborn sometimes, it’s true. Here’s a piece of advice: For your information, God is always right. Don’t try to fight against God: You won’t win.

This past week was “Review Week” for my 6th grade class… a daunting challenge for me that turned out to be a fun experience. Yes– Fun! I can actually say I had fun in my 6th grade class on Friday, and I received some good feedback from one of my students who is a little more of a trouble-maker. He said that the class really enjoyed the games that we played because their last teacher’s idea of a game was to force them to be quiet and watch him eat his breakfast everyday. At least I know I am doing something right.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for my students to realize that Christ makes all the difference! I have been very open with them that I am a Christian, and I usually try to use sentences about God for their vocab lists each week.
  • Please pray for inquisitiveness and questions about eternity to enter their minds. Pray that they would be comfortable telling me about what they believe and asking questions about what I believe.
  • Please pray for deaf ears, blind eyes, and protection from those who would take offense at the Gospel in my school. Pray for parents specifically on this subject, as I know that some of my students probably tell their parents about the things I say in class.

Pray for me as I begin teaching phonics– a whole ‘nother ballgame in 1st grade. Now that I have taught them the alphabet, I have to teach them how to read… go figure. πŸ™‚

Photo Time! or rather, I Got a Raise!

IMG_20151015_130654_649
I know you can’t see it well, but there’s a fish symbol on this baseball looking thing. It isn’t meant to be a Christian symbol, but I see it every day at the bus stop, and it makes me think of Jesus πŸ™‚
IMG_20151018_184413_250
My view of the Aroma Church as a church on Sunday nights.
IMG_20151017_174313_875
Saturday I got to go out biking with a fellow teacher named Cera and we went along the river. It was just the break I needed from planning.
IMG_20151017_174307_927
Beautiful night out
IMG_20151017_172258_863
Cera in blue and Mark in black. Mark is a leader at The Aroma. Cera teaches at another school and found The Aroma because she knows Miki and Caleb (used to be my house-parents)
IMG_20151017_172250_944
I love biking!!
IMG_20151017_160926_379
The Aroma Cafe set up as a coffee shop (every day but Sunday night)
IMG_20151017_160915_924
I got to take over The Aroma’s office on Saturday because no one was there. I like to plan in there because it is peaceful and there are usually others doing their own thing. It helps me concentrate.
IMG_20151017_160908_811
Mini muffins tempting me!
IMG_20151017_135848_765
First phonics lesson plan… here we go!
1443667398119
What hope we have in Jesus! To know that he will always wish our best, and be working towards it!
IMG_20151003_151750_055
Finally got a picture of Miki for you– She is Caleb’s wife, and is very fun. She is like a good mom, and encourages me so very much.
IMG_20151003_151816_287
Miki Bennett– former house mom and coffee shop manager πŸ™‚ Giver of good advice.
IMG_20151004_160651_165
My friend Eva took me to a place where they have an artist village. Here’s one of the treasures… 0.o
IMG_20151004_160822_464
Taiwan in the sun
IMG_20151004_160827_274
Taipei City is surrounded by mountains on all sides, protecting it and making it beautiful… It also kind of makes me feel like I’m in a bowl. 😦
IMG_20151004_160846_625
Eva leading the way in the artist village
IMG_20151004_161246_033
Another strange treasure… art these days…
IMG_20151006_153021_322
Last Tuesday I got on a bus and rode for an hour until I ended up at this park. It is where I finally listened to God and surrendered my will for his.
IMG_20151006_153344_983
The park
IMG_20151006_153448_825
I took this picture because it is a symbol of my new path, going forwards. Look, it is beautiful. So will my story be.
IMG_20151006_155105_599
View from the hill where I made my altar
IMG_20151007_211753_523
In other news, I’ve been able to cook for the last week, and it’s glorious! Here is my first meal πŸ™‚ Seaweed and breaded chicken lol
IMG_20151015_130654_649
Start and end your story with Jesus. Remind yourself of his love and grace.

Good news!

I have been able to play on the worship team twice now; this week and last week. Last week was hard because I had trouble focusing on worshiping God while playing, but this week I was determined not to let my instrument ‘get in the way,’ so to speak. I played with a tall, lanky Taiwanese guy named Van who sang, a full-time missionary named Sarah who is the worship leader and played guitar, and my friend and fellow intern from Toccoa Falls College, Allen, who played the cajon. We all prayed to be able to intentionally worship God during our time on stage, and guess what? God blessed us with exactly that.

It feels good to use my talent of piano to serve God here. That is an answer to prayer!

Oh, and guess what?

This week I got a raise! I was being watched for a couple months to see what my skill level was and management style and whatnot, and at the end of the period my boss was going to decided whether to raise my pay from $600 NT (New Taiwan Dollars)/ hour to $610… and this week she took me aside and said that starting next paycheck, they will give me not $610, but $620 an hour! (That is $19.25 in US Dollars.)

“I am making a way for you to buy a piano,” God said last Tuesday, the Tuesday on the hill. Yes, he is. God is provider. Of money, but moreso of ‘all that we need for life and godliness’ (2 Peter 1:3).

Keep the Faith

Faith keeps You

After the pattern of Much-Afraid from "Hind's Feet on High Places," I built an altar on the hilltop last Tuesday as a symbol of me dying to self and sacrificing my will. I took a stone from it and drew two rubber bands on it. Jai-O me, God, Jai-O me.
After the pattern of Much-Afraid from “Hind’s Feet on High Places,” I built an altar on the hilltop last Tuesday as a symbol of me dying to self and sacrificing my will. I took a stone from it and drew two rubber bands on it. Jai-O me, God, Jai-O me.

 

Me tonight, on my living room couch, Sunday night :)
Me tonight, on my living room couch, Sunday night πŸ™‚

 

 

Skye

5 thoughts on ““God Can Speak Through Other Books,” and “Photos and Altars”

  1. Skye my babe, you are such an inspiration to me! You have shown the strength of faith that God gives you. Thank God He has chosen the weak things of the world to confound the strong. When we are weak then we are strong… in God’s grace that He gives us…to do that which would normally be an impossible task. He helped you see what you didn’t want to see! πŸ˜‰ Glory!
    And now the blessings are starting to pour forth. May it begin to rain upon you! Showers of blessings. Thank You Lord Jesus Christ!!!
    Come on Lord, You are wonderful! and Your ways glorious! Thank You!!!
    Love you Skye. so much. and guess what? you can come home as soon as Jesus says you can! Can’t wait! πŸ˜€
    Waiting on the Lord…. so I guess I can by His grace. Did I say I was weak in this? oh yea.. lol

    Like

  2. Skye
    Love your post and pics. Thanks for sharing your vulnerable, wrestling, self. Thankful for how God is showing up and coming alongside you. This is not the easy road. Keep surrendering. You are chosen, blessed, broken, and now given. Love to you and all at Aroma.

    Like

  3. hi miss sky bird, I love the book hinds feet in high places, yes a must read several times over. thanks for the share and know I pray for you in your adventurous life. Sheila Plemel

    Like

Leave a Reply

