Mom as Preacher

My mom, Becky, recently commented on one of my posts, and I wanted to re-post it here. I was greatly encouraged by what she wrote, and I want to pass it on to you in case you missed it, or for those of you who are just now joining me.

“I was thinking how waves can act as a pushing agent, so to speak. In Christ, as you hold on to Him, they will push you closer to shore and not under. It’s just scary, those waves, because the sky is dark and the water is tumultuous, slamming up against your boat. But I believe they are actually doing the work that God wants them to do, and that is to get you to shore, with all the lessons and strengthening He desired them to do. It takes a lot of strength to keep the boat going right, steering it and all. You’re building spiritual and soul muscles through this storm Skye. You’ll make it to shore because Jesus has you in that boat.

Jesus pushing me... or is he pulling me towards shore??
Jesus pushing me… or is he pulling me towards shore??

He’s with you just like He was with the disciples who were yelling and freaking out and thinking they were going to die. But where was Jesus? Sleeping in sound trust. That’s where He’s working at getting us, isn’t He? It is well with my soul. You make me brave Lord. No fear can hinder the promises You made. You call me out beyond the shore into the waves. You make me brave. Your love, in wave after wave, crashes over me, crashes over me, for You are for us, You are not against us. Champion of Heaven you make a way for all who enter in. You make me brave.
I believe in you Skye, and I believe in the One who holds you through all that you are going through. You’re getting stronger hon. Miss you babe. and love you.”(Becky L.)

Thanks mom, for your wisdom and insight! And thank you, Jesus for encouragement. You turn my mourning into dancing!

This week I saw the first glimmer of light for my 6th grade class– I’ll tell you more later! Got to go plan lessons…. 😛 (Saturdays…)

 

Keep the Faith!

 

Skye

2 thoughts on “Mom as Preacher

  1. Awesome, Becky!! You hit the nail right on the head!! And Skye, you are going to make it over there to God’s glory. He has you in the safe palm of His hand with all His love watching you every minute. We love you, too! Aunt Norma & Uncle Don.

    Like

Leave a Reply

