All I Know

This is the altar that I made to the Lord to symbolize me giving up my own will and letting him choose my path. He knows what I need, and I will trust him to help me. This is going to be ridiculously hard. But He is with me.
This is the altar that I made to the Lord to symbolize me giving up my own will and letting him choose my path. He knows what I need, and I will trust him to help me. This is going to be ridiculously hard. But He is with me.

God helped me make an important decision this week–No matter how difficult it is, I am not going to give up teaching my 6th grade class. He reminded me of his faithfulness and of his promise to me to “Jai-O” me. (I found out the technical way to spell that is jai you…) “Don’t you believe I’ll help you?” God asked me. Hmm. Forgot that.

I need to keep my eyes on Jesus, not on the waves. I have been pulling a “Peter” and looking around at all the scary things in my ocean. But that is not what I need to look at.

All I know is that I am alive. I am here, even though it seems very dark sometimes. But like David said one time, God turns my darkness into light! -Psalm 19:28

If you have ANY encouragement to offer right now, I really need it. We have the call to build each other up in the body, and I need encouragement and a push to keep going. I will make it through! I will.

Please Pray!

  • Pray for encouraging words from those around me.
  • Pray for me to see ahead and plan efficiently.
  • Pray that I make it through the semester.
  • Pray that my transition time would quickly come to an end… you have no idea how long it actually takes to get a hang of life in another country!

Keep the Faith!

 

Skye

15 thoughts on “All I Know

  1. All I can say is, as one who has never been in a situation like yours, I’ll admit…WORSHIP, WORSHIP, WORSHIP HIM!!! All the time…whenever….wherever…in all circumstances….keep WORSHIPPING!!!! lOVE YOU!

    Like

  2. Hi Skye – I have read every single one of your updates and prayed for you each time. Your faith in the Lord is palpable, even through your blog posts. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt God is glorified in you. When God is glorified in your life, you know He is with you and you’re fulfilling His purpose for you, even if everything is trying and uncertain. Thank you for being an encouragement to me and everyone else who reads your posts.

    Like

  3. Skye, my beautiful daughter, Jesus has put such a determination and strength inside you to do what He’s called you to do. In all the accounts of missions I have heard, it has truly been a requirement to have a great determination and love for our Lord and people in order to do what he desires and called them to.
    I wonder if you can get a copy of a book I have just come in contact with called “Revolution in World Missions” One man’s journey to change a generation, by K. P. Yohannan? I believe it would encourage you greatly in this place you are in. If you can’t, please let me know soon, so I can get it to you. It’s through ‘Gospel For Asia’ ministries. To read real-life stories from the mission field through this ministry, here is a web site – http://www.gfa.org/emailupdate to register.
    I have great belief in Jesus that His power and love will see you through this! He loves you greatly, and He wants you to know His love for you and others more and more, I believe.
    ‘I need a hug on the inside. I need Your voice in my mind. I need a touch where fingers can’t go. I feel Your breath
    when I’m still now, I feel Your warmth when You come down. I’ll trade the world for what You can do. I feel You right through me. I feel You right through me. I feel You right through me. Oh my walls crumble, and my soul trembles, my spirit moves.’ (a song)
    I love you sooooo much!!! You are on the track of Jesus always, for He is with you.
    Ps.119:66,67~ “Teach me good judgment, wise and right discernment and knowledge, for I have believed (trusted, relied on and clung to) Your commandments. Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now Your word do I keep (hearing, receiving, loving and obeying it).”

    Like

  4. Skye,

    I have never been a teacher but I am a mom and a church planter in one of the least unchurched cities in the country. These two things have been much harder than I ever thought they would be. I have leaned hard into Jesus and, though the job has not gotten easier, he has been faithful to give me wisdom when I needed it and the grace to keep walking. What you are doing is not for the weak. In fact it is a job for those who are wanting to be made stronger. We are made stronger through our trials knowing that our “muscles” are working. Everyday they are stronger. A verse God gave me a few years ago that has been my encouragement when things have gotten hard: “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Gal. 6:9 You have a harvest you are working towards. I love your willingness to stick it out. God can use that. He asks us for our obedience. There is a reward in being faithful. The harvest will be yours! I love you! You are in my prayers!

    Rena

    Like

  5. Just this morning God showed me this verse: II Timothy “for God did not give us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and self-control.”
    So as I tread through what this means for me in ministry, I offer my thoughts.
    God says to fear not, and to remember He has equipped you with His power! And His self-control, which He wants you to utilize. Self-control to stop focusing on lies and to focus on Him, His power and His love.
    Remember we are NOT fearful in Christ–we are POWERFUL!!
    Keep pressing onward, do not question God, when you look back on this time you WILL see why you are going through all you are now. He is faithful and trustworthy, He will care for you and love on you like a ‘Good Daddy’ should.
    Shane.

    Like

    1. Every day I wish that I were on the other side of this trial. But I am realizing more lately that I need to enjoy not only the results, but the process. There’s a book called “Hind’s Feet on High Places” that I’m reading, and it is teaching me to keep my eyes on the prize, take hold of Sorrow’s and Suffering’s hand, and look to God to make my feet like a deer’s feet. A deer’s feet are able to jump up rocky crags like they are a wide staircase, and I will be like that someday. God is refining me right now, and it’s not just for me. I’m just a small speck in the sea of examples he’s making out of his Christians. He IS a good Father, and we will see him overcome the world time and time again! I’m glad he’s overcoming the ‘world’ in me (my flesh). Thanks, Shane. 🙂 Miss you, Boss

      Like

  6. Hi Sky,I have been enjoying following your posts and praying with you through your journey.  My heart has gone out to you many times. I love your honest, heartfelt, creative writing style.  I’m sure that God is using your experiences to encourage others. May I encourage you with the reminder that all things work together for good, and that you are not in the final production, it’s all just practice.  If we mess up, it’s just practice.  One more thing, the Lord told me a few years ago, “Satan cannot crush a thankful Christian unless he succeeds in robbing him of his thankfulness.” Blessings,Laura Kringle (Sarah’s mom.)

    Like

  7. “Cast your burdens on Jesus, for he cares for you. ”
    Keep those pretty eyes focused on Him, and let Him carry you through. God has you here for such a time as this, and his plans will not be thwarted! You are strong in Him, Skye!
    We love you and are praying for you!
    Tracy

    Like

Leave a Reply

