Ministry, Surfing on the Bus, and Up Next: Profile Picture Time!

Update: My interview went really well on Monday. It is for a school called Sunshine American School, and it is close to the mountains that surround Taipei City. I am awaiting their call to find out if I got the job, which will be tomorrow (about midnight for the US on Wed. Aug. 12th) sometime. I really hope I can work there. It was very peaceful and felt right… AND it is three doors down from a Yamaha music store (With Pianos!)!

 

I am praying for four others who will support me monthly with $25 a month, for emergencies or unforeseen costs. Please pray for these four people to be blessed with provision and generosity. Any funds that I do not need will be donated to Sew Hope, a ministry that works with women who have been in/are getting out of prostitution or homelessness.

IMG_20150808_185138_136
The streets of Ximen (a huge shopping district in Taipei City) are lit up all night.

Please pray with me for discernment and ideas for getting plugged into the ministries they have here at The Aroma Church. A couple that I am thinking about getting involved in are Action4Jesus (A4J) and the discipleship ministry. Mark heads up A4J, and the assistant pastor, Cloud, is head of the discipleship ministries. Ideally, I would like to do both, but I do not think that will work with my schedule. One thing I definitely want to get involved with is the worship team, which is led by Sarah.

Please pray!

  • Please pray that if there is an area of need that I fit into well, God would make that very clear.
  • Please pray that I can be of help and not a hindrance in whatever I get into.
  • Please pray that I would have wisdom in knowing how to get involved. I realize that if I start helping in a ministry position like the discipleship ministry, I would be getting involved with the very framework of the church. There are high implications there and I cannot just ‘do my thing’ for a year and then leave without a good plan.

Other ministry that I have been doing is just living the Christian life and talking to people openly about Jesus. The atmosphere here in Ximen is a weird mix of traditional Chinese beliefs in Buddhism or Daoism and the younger generations who do not necessarily believe. Most often, the younger generation will practice their parents’ worship and other rituals and follow their guidelines, but will go behind their backs on other things. Their culture is very “if you didn’t see it, it didn’t happen” kind of thinking, and Jamie said most crimes happen at night.

There is a definite spiritual weight here. The strongest place I have experienced this weight is when I went to the mountain city of Jiufen (“Jรณh-fun”), in a negative way. Or positive, whichever direction is correct: The city has many Buddhist temple structures and shrines, and that is probably the predominant religion. There was one Christian church, sitting on the side of the mountain, in the middle of town, and I went to go look inside. Immediately as I stepped onto the church’s property lines, without even having gone into the building proper, I felt a weight lift off of me. Peace and joy resided on the very grounds of the church, and inside was quiet and calm and inviting. Jesus was there. So I guess that was the negative experience of the spiritual weight.

2015-07-27(2)2015-07-27(14)

A positive example was (and this is not “positive” as in “good” or “right,” you understand) when an Action4Jesus group went out and we decided to go into a temple and pray for the people inside. It was dark and filled with idols and incense burners, and a few people quietly praying, or doing whatever they do, in front of a few of the idols.–

(sidenote– I missed 11:11 by two minutes. :/ Pray for something, right now, quick! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

–We stood in a circle and prayed in English so people would not understand and kick us out. As we prayed for the people who come there to be freed and for Jesus’ Spirit to come to that place, we could all feel an ominous presence, as if there were (and there were) things watching us. The devil has a definite stronghold here. I know I have already said this, but Taiwan has more Buddhist temples per capita than any other place in the world. Pray. Pray for freedom. If I feel the weight, just imagine what millions of people are walking around under without even knowing it, for their entire lives! I have only been here for three and a half weeks!

I am very thankful for The Aroma.

Please Pray!

  • Please pray for unity within the Christian churches in Taiwan!!!
  • Please pray for Christians to share to their families boldly and to defend Jesus within their families.
  • Please pray for the pastors of the Christian church in Taiwan, that they would have integrity, strength, and power in the Spirit of Christ.
  • Please pray that the Holy Spirit would sweep over Taiwan like the winds of the Typhoon.

\\

Less Serious Stuff…

Bus Surfing: I have become convinced that anyone who rides the bus here for more than a year is probably well-qualified to be a professional surfer.

Lost and Found: I am very happy because a short story that I wrote for my sister Corry has been found! I had saved it in my messages on my phone (I created it via text message), but last week I had to erase everything on my phone. Of course, in the process, I completely forgot about the story. Later, when I realized my mistake, I was freaking out. Earlier I had tried to back up the messages with an app, but could not find the emails it was supposedly sending me anywhere in my inbox.

I prayed and asked God to help me find the story, because the few stories I have written are like gold to me. I want to publish them, and rewriting them would be heartbreaking. It was like losing a child to me, haha. ๐Ÿ™‚

But God gave me an idea: Check the ‘all mail’ file in your email account. I did, and viola! there they were, every last one of them, all jumbled up and split up, but there, nevertheless! I am so happy! That specific story is very special to me because it helped my sister and I get through a very difficult time for both of us this summer.

This is a very long post, so I will leave it on that note. Up Next: Profiles! Faces to the names I am throwing out! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Keep the Faith!

One more thing to pray about: Please pray for me to learn Chinese well. I have started language classes for Mandarin. I also might have the opportunity to do a language exchange with someone who wants to learn English!

However, I really miss speaking Spanish, and I want to continue learning it. Pray that I can find a way to practice or to learn (and TIME!) on my own. Maybe I need to let that dream die, I don’t know. But I feel like Spanish is one part of my life I do not want to let go.

Okay, Tzie chien! (See you later!)

Skye

Leave a Reply

