Demo-licious (Teaching and Typhoons and I’s)

Sorry for the strange name, but you will understand shortly.

Update: I am still looking for jobs. I have done two interviews already, and had received some interest, but no luck so far.

I am also still looking for five monthly supporters to give $25 per month for the year. Please pray about supporting me! If you cannot, please pray for those who can to have generous hearts–Thanks! The money will go towards unforeseen emergencies or expenses, and if it turns out that I do not need some or all of the gifts, I will donate it to one of the ministries that The Aroma is connected with (Sew Hope, a ministry that helps homeless or struggling women, some of whom are or have been trapped in prostitution). Praise God for his provision for me! 🙂

\\

 

Demo-liciousness:

Demo 1.

Thinking about how to teach, and what it means to be me now!
Thinking about how to teach, and what it means to be me now!

I am looking for a job teaching English at a school here in Taipei City. So far I have done two demonstrations: one that lasted 15 long horrible minutes, and after some help, my second one lasted a comfortable and quick 3 hours.

On Monday I have a new demo at a school about 45 minutes from the Aroma Cafe called “Sunshine American School.” The school is looking  for a teacher to do two classes– one is a first grade class, and the other is a sixth grade class. Phew! Pray that I can keep up with them if I get the job, and be able to switch back and forth easily! Monday I’ll travel there and check it out, and do my demonstration.

Please pray!

Pray that I can make a good lesson plan! I am teaching the letters PQRS and some vocab about toys.

Demo 2.

650x366_08061318_19694035204_47a2d48ea2_o
Typhoon Soudelor over the ocean, coming our way!

Demo 2 is “demolition.” This weekend there is a big typhoon coming. By big, the people around The Aroma are saying it is the biggest typhoon in the whole world for the entire year. So yeah, that will be fun. We are going to a movie tonight, and planning on hanging out for a while at Mark’s house. Mark is one of the leaders at The Aroma, and likes to play boardgames and hang out with people at odd hours of the day/night.

 

Instead of snowdays, Taiwanese people have typhoon days. A typhoon is a cyclone that starts over the ocean and is basically this side of the world’s hurricane. The nice thing is that the mountain range of Taiwan usually splits up the storm and makes it fizzle out. Also, Taipei City, where I live, is completely surrounded by mountains, so the city is pretty safe. Most of the buildings are made of sturdy concrete, too. We are protected by God’s great design! The website http://www.cwb.gov.tw/V7e/prevent/typhoon/ty.htm will help you track the typhoon as it crosses Taiwan this weekend! 🙂

Please Pray!

Pray for those who do not have homes that are well-built, and who do not live inside the protection of the mountains in the north of Taiwan.

Demi:

Demi, as defined by the Merriam Webster dictionary is:

1
:  half <demisemiquaver>
2
:  one that partly belongs to (a specified type or class) <demigod>
I like alliteration, but Demi is also a good word for me right now. I am half okay. 🙂
I think the newness and fun of being in a new, fun culture is beginning to wear off. I am already experiencing a few signs of culture shock.
Culture shock is not a single event, but rather a compilation of many feelings, experiences, and thoughts. A few things that have started to bother me are:

demi
Demi- 🙂
  1. Getting stared at. Everywhere.
  2. Not knowing the language. This is masked right now, but I feel this impending sense of confusion coming when I am pushed out of the nest and get a job somewhere else. I will be going back and forth on my own, and because I can hardly speak enough to buy food at the moment, it makes me nervous. Many people know some English, but that some may not apply to situations that I am in.
  3. Missing family.
  4. The unknowns. Unavoidable, but nevertheless frustrating. I do not have a job, do not have clear boundaries with new friends yet, do not have a clear understanding of my role here yet… etc.

Please Pray!

You guessed it! Please pray for all the above things. Pray that I can glorify God in all I do and say, and that God would help me to turn to him daily and hourly. Pray that I can express myself through music, my one constant friend aside from God. As long as I have a voice, I want to praise God with it. As long as I have a piano, I want to learn. ❤

I GREATLY appreciate you! Thank you for reading and commenting! It helps me know people are listening and that you care. 🙂 You are a blessing to me!

\\

This has been a great opportunity to teach me to die to myself. If dying to myself is all I learn in Taiwan, it will be enough. Paul wrote this in Galatians 2:20, and it is my life verse:

“My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (NLT)

I have peace. I am still struggling with sadness and frustrations, but I have peace. I know it will be good. Once, God told me that he would be taking me through something very hard, but that it would be good. Hard, but very good. To this day, those were the best words he could have ever told me. Those words have gotten me through many things, and I believe that they will be my guiding promise until I die or he returns. It makes me smile to remember the days I thought were hard, and look back on the results seeing God’s handiwork throughout them all. I thank God that he is faithful and true to his Word. God is good, the devil is a liar, and prayer still changes things! Don’t ever give up on God! 🙂

 

Keep the Faith!!!

 

Skye

 

Picture of typhoon:
http://www.accuweather.com/en/weather-news/typhoon-soudelor-to-threaten-c/51154058
3 thoughts on “Demo-licious (Teaching and Typhoons and I’s)

  1. Added you to my prayer journal. ^_^ Glad to hear your 3-hour demo was comfortable. Change and immersing oneself in a new culture is definitely intimidating. Will continue to pray and love your writing style ❤

    Like

  2. Oh Skye, my heart is with you!! Our God is all you need! Yes! You will be fine because He keeps all that is committed to Him! Words of encouragement I pray will be spoken to you and that you will gain great understanding of all that He wants for you right now, to get you through this difficult time. Paul in the Bible says, in Romans 8:15, “For the Spirit which you have now received is not a spirit of slavery to put you once more in bondage to fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption (the Spirit producing sonship) in the bliss of which we cry, Abba! (that is,) Father!” vs. 26, “So too the Holy Spirit comes to our aid and bears us up in our weakness; for we do not know what prayer to offer nor how to offer it worthily as we ought, but the Spirit Himself goes to meet our supplication and pleads in our behalf with unspeakable yearnings and groanings too deep for utterance.” vs.31, ” What then shall we say to all this? If God be for us, who can be against us? (Who can be our foe, if God is on our side?)” vs. 34, ” Who is there to condemn us? Will Christ Jesus, the Messiah, Who died, rather Who was raised from the dead, Who is at the right hand of God actually pleading as He intercedes for us?” (NOT!) vs.37, “Yet amid all these things we are more than conquerors and gain surpassing victory through Him who loves us.” My precious one you will learn how to not only lean on your Lord daily, and hourly, but no doubt moment by moment at times. I believe He has you there, and in that, He covers all ….. ALL! Every moment, every situation, every emotional time,(its totally ok to cry whenever you need to, btw! Just realize you are human, with God on your side!)

    I know you. I know you know these things, but may God encourage you again and again and again with His Holy Spirit and His Word. The Spirit of God is your down-payment for all that is coming in our eternal Home. Hold on to Him and know He is with you always! I will be one who will pay $25 for you, and will pray for others to join in. He has not brought you to a place that He will not provide and has not prepared you for. Yes, you no doubt have looked back to see His all-providing hand in your life. It will ALWAYS be that way!! Romans 8:17 says that we will share in His suffering if we are His, as well as His inheritance with Him, but vs. 18 also declares “But what of that? For I consider that the sufferings of this present time(this present life) are not worth being compared with the glory that is about to be revealed TO US AND IN US AND FOR US AND CONFERRED ON US!” God is going to show you some stuff that is going to blow you away! I believe it! I know it! “Eye has not seen, nor ear has heard, nor has it even entered into the heart of man, all that God has in store for those that love Him.” So right now I pray for all your culture shock, your finances..they’re provided for in the Beloved..(.in fact, while praying about this new demo coming on Monday, I really sensed an anointing on it, but of course the Lord will make it evident if it’s Him saying this is the place!)
    Prayers are us touching heaven…and agreeing with what He wants.Supernatural ability to learn the language and tons of covering and grace. Every time someone stares at you, just smile and pray for them to see God’s light in you. No doubt they do! and will! Bless them. Turn it into a blessing for them and even coming opps to share the love God has for them. You will see that it will change your perspective on that seemingly annoying response you’re getting. May God give you clarity as you seek Him about all things. Even as you miss your family, you are loved and missed by your family GREATLY!!!!! May He comfort you with this knowledge!! ❤ ❤ ❤ Let us be praying always in the Holy Spirit… (this is part of our armor :)). I LOVE YOU! YOU ARE A MIGHTY WOMAN OF GOD!! Show Taipei City the love God has for them! God has brought you to them to show them His love and power. Your life is a testimony of this. 🙂 Keeping the homefires burning….. <3, Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

