Don’t Look Back (Tickets to Taiwan Cost a Lot! :) And Musical Chickens

Running tally: Woo hoo! I have raised about $6,100 out of the ~$6,800 I need! Praise God! I bought my ticket for July 17th. No word on a job yet. Pray for a job for me, and for the people at The Aroma (the coffee shop where I’ll be based out of) to please God in all they do in the city of Taipei. To join those who have provided funds for me thus far, go to cmalliance.org/give/ and type in “ENV- Skye Bonati” in the search bar under “Give to International Worker or Special Projects.”

This summer, I’ve had so many opportunities to visit my family and friends, and I have to thank God for all of you. I’ve also had the chance to talk to some of you on the phone and see how you are doing, and it has been a huge blessing of encouragement and love. Thank you all!

\\

Friday marked 3 weeks to the day of my flight to Taiwan on the 17th of July. I bought tickets a few days ago, and just like that… $1,o30 richer! (Well, the airlines are, anyway…) I’ll be crossing the continent to San Diego, and then hopping up to San Francisco for a couple-hour layover before finally being exported to Taiwan. I’ll arrive the next day in the capitol city, Taipei, at around 6:30 pm. The time difference is 13 hours, so in reality I’ll have spent 22 hours traveling. I did that last summer when I went to Burma, and I know now from experience: take a toothbrush! And a pillow. That’s a very long time to be in a plane.

\\

I’ve reflected over what my life holds in the future, and each time, I end up with this final thought that trumps everything else: I do not know what I will be doing a year from now. I do not even know what I will be doing 2 months from now. But what I do know is that I must say yes to God, whatever he asks. Now I know that I am to go to Taiwan. Don’t even know where I will be working. But I know that I am to go. This week, Jesus reminded me of the verse where he says, “Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head” (Matthew 8:20).

It’s okay not to know where I am going. There is a promise that I can look forward to, no matter where we go: “By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence” (2 Peter 1:3). I am not looking back.

\\

So… when I went to my dad’s house, no piano.

That is until I went outside to the side porch:

Musical chickens
Musical chickens– O, the irony…

The piano I had been pining over for a few days was given to the elements, on wait for a new owner. I might have cried a little, at least on the inside! (Backstory: my dad has been threatening its imminent disappearance for quite some time, but he has a soft spot for it that has held it for me for at least two years [and gotten it tuned a few times, I might add]. I guess I never thought it would leave while I was still here…)

So, my dream to play a piano outside has come to an unlikely fruition. Voila! Piano outside. Done. I guess my next bucket-list item for piano land has to be a lot more like the Piano Guys’ trip to the Great Wall of China or something…

\\

I have been spending time with my dad since Father’s Day, and here are some pictures from spending my time at his home in the Minnesota country and the Colorado city:

eat the fish! eat it!
eat the fish! eat it!
My stepmom taught me how to bread and fry the fish dad and I caught, after dad taught me how to de-scale and fillet them- So fun!
My stepmom taught me how to bread and fry the fish dad and I caught, after dad taught me how to de-scale and fillet them- So fun!
Caution: Images captured by this camera are smaller than they appear.
Caution: Images captured by this camera are smaller than they appear.
There's the Rockies! I'll get to see them more up-close and personal tomorrow when I visit my brother's new home in the mountains.
There’s the Rockies! I’ll get to see them more up-close and personal today when I visit my brother’s new home in the mountains.
My little cousin got to go put put golfing every night he was at my G-ma's-- as a result, the workers knew him by name :)
My little cousin got to go put put golfing every night he was at my G-ma’s– as a result, the workers knew him by name 🙂
Apparently there's been over 12 deaths from lightning strikes in the last week. This is a sweet reminder of God's promises-- the brightest double rainbow I've ever seen!
Apparently there’s been over 12 deaths from lightning strikes in the last week. This is a sweet reminder of God’s promises– the brightest double rainbow I’ve ever seen!

 

Soon, we will be on the road back to Minnesota, and the countdown begins…

 

Keep the Faith!

 

One thought on “Don’t Look Back (Tickets to Taiwan Cost a Lot! :) And Musical Chickens

Leave a Reply

